Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas | BOOK REVIEW

throne of glassThrone of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
Publisher/Year: Bloomsbury August 2nd 2012
Genre: Kickass Fantasy
Series: YES, IT’S A SERIES. IT’S A MEGASERIES.
Other Books From Author: Crown of Midnight (Book 2)

Amazon| Goodreads | @SJMaas |

Meet Celaena Sardothien.
Beautiful. Deadly. Destined for greatness.

In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake: she got caught.

Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament—fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin’s heart be melted?

4.5

GUYS. I just found out that Throne of Glass is the first book in a series of 5 TO 6 FREAKING BOOKS.

#AMEXCITED

I was pretty convinced that this was going to be a trilogy, and I got quite worried because we have so much groundwork laid, 3 books ain’t gonna be enough! If you haven’t picked up this book because of the massive hype, don’t worry. This book is just as epic as everyone makes it out to be. Since last year, I have been met on all sides with a chorus of “YOU HAVE TO READ THRONE OF GLASS!” and “READ IT! READ IT NOWWWWWWW!” and “OH MY GOD CROWN OF MIDNIGHT IS OUT WHAT ARE YOU DOING???” … yeah. I’m late to this party and MAN I feel bad because why did I put this off for so long?

I LOVED this book. I love the characters, I love where it’s going, and it’s got a perfect balance of the reality world x fantasy world. The main character, Celaena Sardothien, is so cool. Celaena made me fall in love with her within the first 10 pages. She’s kickass, highly intelligent, skeptical, snarky, and just all around awesome. I was immediately captivated, wanting to know more about her past, her talent as an assassin, and the world of Erilea. Especially her bookworm tendencies and her fighting skills continually impressed me. Awesome.

Not going to talk too much about the plot because obviously, **spoilers**!! Some parts reminded me of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, which is weird, because this is not like Harry Potter at all. Anyone else remembered that super excited “WHAT’S THE NEXT TEST GONNA BE” feel?

To be honest, the romance didn’t play a huge part in this book for me, because I got quite annoyed with spoiler on the blurb about “Young Captain Westfall”. As soon as I opened the book, he’s right there. And I couldn’t focus on anything except “oh, he’s going to love her”. Other than that…

Got to sit up straight when Chaol’s in the room ;)

I was hooked on every bit of this book. From the brutal murders to intriguing fantasy, from devious/ scheming/ disgusting characters to unexpected comrades, so much is going on in here that putting Throne of Glass down was a pain. Sarah J. Maas’ created a spectrum of characters with lots of depth, and I loved the use of ancient symbols in building up the atmosphere of irrational fear. THE PLOT TWISTS. THE EVIL KING OF ALL EVILS. Cant. Stop. Theorizing.

SUMMING IT UP…

If you have read ToG, what’s your take? If you have not, I REALLY THINK you should pick this up. This is going to be a really great series, I could just imagine it going to EPIC PLACES. 

19 thoughts on “Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas | BOOK REVIEW

  1. Finally you’re back! And I’m glad you like that book! It’s really good! And go read CoM! That is where all the real epicness starts trust me!!!

  2. *Jaw drops* 5-6 books, really?! I thought it was just a trilogy with a bunch of novellas on the side. But yeah, if you enjoyed this book, then you’re going to like book 2 even more. For me, book 1 was good and book 2 was initially slow but then really picked the game up. Am definitely looking forward to book 3 coming out this year :D

    Obsessive Compulsive Reader

    • I KNOW RIGHT!! Feeling super spoiled for awesauce right now hehe. And the collection of novellas have just been published into a gorgeously gorgeous book (The Assassin’s Blade if I’m not wrong). Thank you for visiting!

    • ASDFGHJKL

      *EXPECTATIONS SKY ROCKET*

      I hope all the hype for CoM is going to work out as good as ToG!! You guys make me insanely excited and curious because, seriously, the second book is EVEN BETTER? =D

  3. I didn’t know this was going to have more than three books! When I read ToG, I really liked it a lot. It seemed refreshing at that time. Giving much thought about it now though, it didn’t seem that original compared to many others of the same genre. But still, I ‘m glad you liked it. I still need to read Crown of Midnight!

    Faye @ The Social Potato Reviews

    • Even though I’ve been book blogging for 2 years, I must say I’m a crazy slow reader xD Everyone else reaches their Goodreads Challenge of a bazillion books and I never seem to reach my puny goal. So… ToG really came off as a mindblowing book =) From what I’ve been hearing though, CoM only gets better so I’d say this series deserves a second chance!

  4. Great review, I’m so glad to see you liked it so much! I read it as arc, so luckily I didn’t really get spoilered! It’s such a wonderful series, so real and exciting- I hope you’re close to reading Crown of Midnight, because, as you have no doubt heard a lot, it is incredible. Seriously, breathtaking.

  5. Ahh I feel like I’m the only on in the world now who hasn’t started this series!!! I’ve been wanting to start for ages, though, and your review has really solidified that. I kind of want, no NEED this book now. EVERYONE has been talking about how great this series is (and they covers are gooorgeous!!). Great review, I might just go buy this now;)

    Emily from Blue-Eyed Bibliophile

    • EEEE EMILY!!!!

      Now I’m part of the have-read gang so it’s my duty and responsibility to do BOOK PUSHING!! YES PLEASE READ THIS ASAP, I have a feeling this series is just going to get better and you want to be on the train when that happens! Enjoy reading and thank you for visiting =)

  6. I soooo loved Throne of Glass!! I adored how Celaena was such a multilayered character, kick arse assassin that is deadly with her hands and weapons and also girly girl with clothes, loves her dog and is a bookworm!!
    The plot keeps you guessing and thinking and it only thickens on Crown of Midnight that was EVEN MORE AWESOME!! I had a MASSIVE book hangover after CoM and the ending is cruel and I need book 3 freaking already but is not out till Octobeeeer!!

    • I think this has to best comment I’ve received <3 SUPER EXCITED for Crown of Midnight, all of you guys tempt me!! I think Ms Maas just released a playlist for Heir of Fire… Guess we can only contend ourselves with those for now!

  7. Pingback: BABBLE & BOOKS | Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas | Summer Next Top Story

Leave a Reply

